The Revolution Championship

Introducing the Revolution Championship, the official fictional title of The NXT Revolution.

The title was awarded to the winner of the first singles match to take place on the first episode of WWE NXT that was covered by The NXT Revolution. On August 21 2014, Mojo Rawley emerged victorious against Steve Cutler and became the inaugural Revolution Champion.


The reigning Revolution Champion is Rezar of the Authors of Pain. He pinned Tommaso Ciampa in a tag team match on January 28 2017 to win the title. This is his first reign. He must defend the title by July 20 2017.


Revolution Championship History

#16 Rezar (January 28 2017 – )

Rezar of the Authors of Pain pinned Tommaso Ciampa in a tag team match at Takeover San Antonio after combining with Akam to hit the Last Chapter.

5 defenses, held for 117+ days


#15 Tommaso Ciampa (January 4 2017 – January 28 2017)

#DIY’s Tommaso Ciampa pinned Nick Miller in a tag team match after combining with Johnny Gargano to hit the superkick/knee strike combo.

1 defense, held for 24 days


#14 Nick Miller (November 9 2016 – January 4 2017)

TM61’s Nick Miller defeated Alexander Wolfe with a jackknife pin in the semi-finals of the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic.

1 defense, held for 56 days


#13 Alexander Wolfe (October 12 2016 – November 9 2016)

Alexander Wolfe pinned Tye Dillinger after combining with Sawyer Fulton in Sanity’s first match.

1 defense, held for 28 days


#12 Tye Dillinger (August 24 2016 – October 12 2016)

The Perfect 10 pinned Wesley Blake after a Tye Breaker to win the vacant title and become a two-time Revolution Champion.

2 defenses, held for 49 days


#11 Shinsuke Nakamura (June 8 2016 – August 20 2016)

Shinsuke Nakamura hit Austin Aries with Kinshasa to win the title at Takeover: The End. Nakamura won the NXT Championship on August 20 2016 and was stripped of the Revolution Championship in accordance with the Paige Rule.

3 defenses, held for 73 days


#10 Austin Aries (April 1 2016 – June 8 2016)

Austin Aries rolled up Baron Corbin to win the Revolution Championship on his NXT debut at Takeover Dallas.

4 defenses, held for 68 days


#9 Baron Corbin (December 16 2015 – April 1 2016)

Big Banter pinned Apollo Crews at Takeover London after the End of Days and became the first ever two-time Revolution Champion.

3 defenses, held for 107 days


#8 Apollo Crews (August 22 2015 – December 16 2015)

Apollo Crews won the Revolution Championship on his NXT debut at Takeover Brooklyn, he pinned Tye Dillinger after a standing moonsault.

6 defenses, held for 116 days


#7 Tye Dillinger (August 12 2015 – August 22 2015)

The Perfect 10 ironically held the Revolution Championship for 10 days. I’m sure he wouldn’t have had it any other way.

0 defenses, held for 10 days


#6 Solomon Crowe (July 8 2015 – August 12 2015)

Solomon Crowe won the vacant title by making Marcus Louis tap out to the Crowebar.

0 defenses, held for 35 days


#5 Finn Balor (February 11 2015 – July 4 2015)

Finn Balor delivered the Coup de Grace to Adrian Neville’s title reign at NXT Takeover: Rival. Balor is the longest reigning Revolution Champion of all time. His record-breaking reign was only stopped when he was stripped of the title on July 4 2015 for violating the Paige Rule by winning the NXT Championship.

8 defenses, held for 143 days


#4 Adrian Neville (February 4 2015 – February 11 2015)

Adrian Neville pinned Baron Corbin after a Red Arrow to win the title. He holds the unenviable honour of being the shortest reigning Revolution Champion.

0 defenses, held for 7 days


#3 Baron Corbin (January 14 2015 – February 4 2015)

Baron Corbin delivered the End of Days to win the title from Bull Dempsey.

1 defense, held for 21 days


#2 Bull Dempsey (September 11 2014 – January 14 2015)

Bull Dempsey destroyed Mojo Rawley at NXT Takeover: Fatal-4-Way to win the title.

5 defenses, held for 125 days


#1 Mojo Rawley (August 21 2014 – September 11 2014)

Mojo Rawley pinned Steve Cutler after a Hyperdrive to become the inaugural Revolution Champion.

0 defenses, held for 21 days



Revolution Championship rules:

  • The title must be won like any other: by pinfall, submission, referee stoppage, knockout or gimmick match stipulation.
  • The title can be held by any male wrestler who competes in NXT, but it can not be held by the NXT Champion. Should the Revolution Champion win the NXT Championship, they will automatically be stripped of the Revolution Championship. This will be known as the Paige Rule.
  • The title can only be defended on NXT TV, this includes Takeover events.
  • The Champion defends the title in every match they compete in, except when facing the NXT Champion. The title is defended in tag team matches, though the champion will only lose the title if they are the one to take the fall, otherwise the match will count as a valid title defense.
  • The title must be defended at least once every two months. If this does not happen, the champion will be automatically stripped. This will be known as the Two Month Rule.
  • If the title is vacated, the new champion will be decided by the next NXT singles match that does not feature the previous champion or the NXT Champion.

Up to date as of May 25 2017. All dates refer to the day on which the episode was initially broadcast on.